Building Benefits for Merchants
2013 Republic of Ireland Awards
2012 NI Awards
ROI Awards
NI Awards
 Gyproc Kingspan Insulation Wavin Ireland Ltd. Irish Cement Ltd. Sanbra Fyffe Ltd 

2011 Republic of Ireland

Clare builders merchant takes national award

John O’ Dwyer Builders Providers, Kilrush is the national winner in the Octabuild Builders Merchant Awards 2011.

This was the 17th Octabuild Builders Awards. The companies who organise the awards as Octabuild are; Gyproc, Evo-Stik, Dulux Paints, Irish Cement, Kingspan Insulation, Sanbra Fyffe, Tegral and Wavin

John O’Dwyer Builders providers also won the Munster Regional Award and the County Clare award. John O’ Dwyer set up his first Builders Providers in 1984. The Kilrush branch opened in November 2008. The Company prides itself on their efficient delivery service in Co. Clare and surrounding counties and also its experienced and well-trained staff.

Other regional winners

Maurice Graham Ltd, Monaghan won both the Connaught / Ulster Regional Award and the County Monaghan Award while Telfords, Portloaise, won both the Leinster Regional Award and the County Laois Award, Telfords also received two awards for its Support for Irish Products. In addition to the Octabuild award, it received a second honour from Guaranteed Irish Ltd.

Seven other special awards were presented as well as County awards. The special award winners were:

SME Business Award : Nicolas O Conchubhair Teo, Connemara, County Galway.
Large Business Award : Heiton Buckley, Robinhood Road, Dublin 24.
Family Business Award : J.P. Brady and Son Ltd, Virginia, County Cavan.
Heavy Goods Award : Cork Builders Providers, Togher, Cork.
Most Improved Business Award : Stakelums Hardware Ltd, Thurles, County Tipperary.
Marketing Award : Grange Builders Providers, Baldoyle, County Dublin.
Lifetime Achievement Award : Michael O’ Higgins, Galway.


Carlow Heiton Buckley Carlow
Cavan Homemakers
Clare John O' Dwyer Builders Providers Kilrush
Cork Burton's Hardware
Donegal The Cope Builders Providers
Dublin Heiton Buckley Robinhood Road, Dublin 12
Galway McDonagh Trade Centre
Kerry Heiton Buckley Tralee
Kildare McCarthys Homevalue Hardware, Properous
Kilkenny Chadwicks Kilkenny
Laois Telfords Portlaoise
Limerick James McMahon Ltd
Longford Ganlys Longford
Louth Eddies Hardware / Heiton Buckley
Mayo Archers Ballina
Meath Chadwicks Ltd Navan
Monaghan Maurice Graham Ltd
Offaly Tullamore Hardware (A Heiton Buckley Company)
Roscommon Ganlys Athlone
Sligo Brooks Hanley
Tipperary Stakelums Hardware
Waterford Heiton Buckley Waterford
Westmeath Topline Mullingar Hardware
Wexford C + D Home and Hardware
Wicklow Arklow Home and Hardware

All entries were judged on the basis of Customer Service, Merchandising, Housekeeping, Health & Safety and Management Systems.

Introducing the awards the Chairman of Octabuild Tom O’ Callaghan, said.” In the present economic climate virtually every business in the country is feeling the pressure on sales and margins. Despite the difficulties there is considerable innovation been shown by builders merchants and there is a considerable shift in the way traditional builders merchant are reacting to the changing environment.“

Between them the Octabuild companies have over 650 years manufacturing experience in Ireland, directly employ over 1,400 people here and have over 20,000 quality products available every day for Irish builders merchants.

Judges view

On behalf of the judging panel Frank O’Boyle outlined 10 attributes the judges found among the winners.

1. Innovation
2. Better management controls
3. Focus on debtors/stock and cash
4. Better trade counters
5. Well managed trade yards with improved security
6. Terrific In-store displays & some great merchandising
7. Signage, lighting & image change
8. A real passion to succeed
9. Great teamwork and loyal staff
10. A targeted approach to the new market conditions.

He went on to say that the judges recommendations for the future were that
merchants must differentiate or die, get close to your customers and crucially get the value equation right, time and money.

The judging panel was described at the awards as being among the most dedicated and knowledgeable people in the business. In addition to Frank O’Boyle the panel included Michael McBride, Catherine Sheils, Paddy O’Leary, Eddie Battersby, Seamus Cooney and Liam O’Gorman.

Octabuild chairman view

Tom O’Callaghan the incoming chairman of Octabuild welcomed over 230 guests to the Awards.

He said that since the awards began in the mid 80s the purpose has remained firm. It is to honour those merchants who strive for excellence.

He said that despite the current economic difficulties there is considerable innovation been shown by builders merchants. And there is a considerable shift in the way traditional builders merchant are reacting to the changing environment.

In describing Octabuild he said, “Our objective in coming together as Octabuild is to promote the benefits of high quality, Irish manufactured products. Each Octabuild company is committed to providing an efficient and reliable service to builders merchants.

“While we all conduct our business independently of each other, we share a number of important attributes.

We all:

  • have a solid manufacturing base in Ireland where we employ over 1,400 people
  • operate to the highest technical and management quality standards
  • are market leaders in our business sectors offering over 20,000 quality products
  • and use builders merchants as our primary sales route to the end-user

“Between us we make a significant contribution to the Irish building and construction industry. Our manufacturing plants are spread throughout the country providing significant employment and contributing substantially to the economic well being of local communities.

“And our combined product portfolio represents an impressive range of high quality Irish manufactured brands.

“We make no apology for highlighting the benefits for you and your local communities in buying from Irish- based Octabuild companies. By working in partnership we can overcome the present difficulties and only by supporting each other can we survive and build for the future”.