Building Benefits for Merchants
2013 Republic of Ireland Awards
2012 NI Awards
ROI Awards
NI Awards
 Gyproc Kingspan Insulation Wavin Ireland Ltd. Irish Cement Ltd. Sanbra Fyffe Ltd 

Octabuild Builders Merchant Awards 2017

Ganly’s Athlone wins national award

Ganly’s Athlone has won both the National and Connacht/Ulster (Large Business) category awards in the Octabuild Builders Merchant Awards 2017. 

 National Octabuild Builders Merchant of the Year : Brian, Michelle and Michael Ganly, Ganly’s, Athlone with Kieran Burke, President, Hardware Association Ireland (left) and Declan Smyth, Chairman, Octabuild (right)

This is the fourth time Ganly’s has won the National Builders Merchant Award since the awards began in 1986. They won previously in 2000, 2005 and 2009.

Ganly’s was established in 1989 employing 4 people in an old disused garage and has expanded over the years to its current staff of 101, offering expert advice and a wide range of products from its Trade Centres and Retail Stores across the Midlands. 

Ganly’s are now the largest independent Builder Providers in the Midlands, operating out of three stores in Athlone, Longford and Mountbellow.

The Octabuild Builders Merchant Awards winners were announced at a presentation dinner on Thursday May 11th in the Guinness Storehouse in Dublin.

This was the 20th Octabuild Builders Merchant Awards. The companies who organise the awards as Octabuild are Gyproc, Glennon Brothers, Dulux Paints, Irish Cement, Kingspan Insulation, Sanbra Fyffe, Tegral and Wavin.

Between them the Octabuild companies have over 650 years’ manufacturing experience in Ireland, directly employ over 1,200 people here and have over 20,000 quality products available every day for Irish builders merchants.

This year 11 category awards were presented. A Lifetime Achievement award was also made on the night to William Telford of Telfords Portlaoise.

In addition to Ganly’s, the other award winners were:

Cork City & County

  • Cork Builders Providers, Togher (Large Business Award)
  • Topline Burtons, Kanturk (Small Business Award)


  • Heiton Buckley Ltd, Sligo (Small business Award)

Dublin City & County

  • Grange Builders Providers, Baldoyle (Large Business Award)
  • Chadwicks Plumb Centre, Glasnevin (Small business award)


  • Telfords, Portlaoise (Large business award)
  • Chadwicks in Navan (Small Business Award)


  • Morris Builders Providers, Waterford (Large Business Award) 
  • Heiton Buckley Ltd, Waterford (Small Business Award)

Best Staff team award

  • Maurice Graham Ltd. Monaghan